Klangforum Wien


Keyboard instruments have always formed the backbone of small instrumental ensembles. Presenting three very different compositions and virtuosic playing in one evening, Klangforum Wien is testimony to the fact that not everything has already been tried and tested in this wide-ranging genre. In a work by Mikheil Shugliashvili (1941–1996), a string quartet takes on two pianos. Things get intense—energized, brusque, powerful—in this sextet, a piece exemplifying the erratic, unique character of this Georgian composer. Trio for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano offers a rhythmic and melodic sensibility indebted to the richness of Cypriot culture. Finally, in the performance of his composition The Rural Realm, Ofir Klemperer takes on the role of the groovy soloist, playing the legendary Korg MS-20 synthesizer.

4.10.19, 19:30

Next Liberty
Kaiser-Josef-Platz 10
8010 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps

Day pass 18/14 Euro

Ö1 broadcast Zeit-Ton: 8.10., 23:03

Composition: Christina Athinodorou, Ofir Klemperer, and Mikheil Shugliashvili
Klangforum Wien
Conductor: Ilan Volkov
Synthesizer: Ofir Klemperer

The score for the composition Sextet for Two Pianos and a String Quartet (1973) by Mikheil Shugliashvili was copublished by Boosey & Hawkes and ORF musikprotokoll for the first time for this occasion.